Fascinating time exploring Inverharroch Farm this week with County Archaeologist Claire Herbert looking for clues that stone from the original Inverharroch Castle might have been used in the construction. No obvious evidence of this but we did start to unravel the evolution of the building and found some fascinating 1930/40s graffiti to boot.
Reputedly the farm sits on the site of a 13th century castle known as ‘Invercharrach’ and the farmhouse itself has certainly been there since the 17th century with all of the surrounding fields conforming to a typical sub medieval farm system with fields radiating out from the farm stead. Indeed land records for ‘Invercharrach’ go back as far back as the 6th Century, when the Invercharroch was defined as a Pictish ‘davach’ a measure of land.
It looks too like the central part of the steading was most likely a traditional Scottish longhouse which over centuries has been extended with extra wings being built on to form the classic u-shaped steading it is today.
Thrilling to start to understand the evolution of the buildings a bit more and looking forward to doing some community archaeology at Inverharroch later in the year.