Welcome to the Cabrach Trust

The Cabrach Trust is embarking on an exciting regeneration project to develop a working historical  distillery and heritage centre on the historic Inverharroch site. The centre will celebrate the rich heritage and culture of The Cabrach. This remote and haunting land was once the thriving hub of an illicit whisky industry and the heritage centre will tell this long secret story.

Watch our short film to find out more about our exciting plans to bring whisky back to the Cabrach

Visualisation of the Cabrach distillery and heritage centre with the distillery

Visualisation of the Cabrach distillery and heritage centre with the distillery seen on the left and the visitor centre cafe on the right.

The Cabrach Trust was established in 2011 in response to a need to preserve the rich cultural heritage of the Cabrach and safeguard it’s remote communities. In 2013, thanks to generous private donations and the support of the Reekimlane Foundation, the Cabrach Trust took ownership of the historic Inverharroch Farm and its 170 acres of land. In addition, the Trust is now, in partnership with the Cabrach Community Association, in the process of acquiring ownership, through a Community Asset Transfer, of the Old school and Hall in the Lower Cabrach.

The Cabrach Trust is a social enterprise and all profits from the distillery and heritage centre will be used to further the Trust’s social aims of providing jobs, housing, and services to regenerate this remote rural landscape.

Read more about The Cabrach

The work of the Cabrach Trust is enabled by the generous support and funding of private donors, Trust’s and Foundations, including; The Reekimlane Foundation, Cairngorm Capital, the William Grant Foundation, the Vattenfall Clashindarroch Community Fund through Foundation Scotland, Community Energy Scotland, Resource Efficient Scotland, Forestry Commission Scotland, Rural Housing Scotland, Moray Leader.

The Cabrach heritage Centre and historical distillery project is being part-financed by the Scottish Government and the European Community Moray Leader 2014 – 2020 Programme.